Become a Member

News July 2012

Current News

News Archive

WMF/Knoll Modernism Prize 2012 Deadline – July 31

July 26, 2012

The World Monuments Fund/Knoll Modernism prize is awarded every other year to a design professional or firm in recognition of innovative design solutions that preserved or saved a modern landmark at risk. Nominations for the Fall 2012 prize are due July 31. See the call for nominations for full details.

The Prize was established to raise public awareness of the contribution Modernism makes to contemporary life, the important place Modernism holds in the architectural record, and the influential role that architects and designers play in preserving Modern heritage. Projects that enhanced a site’s architectural, functional, economic and environmental sustainability while benefiting the community are encouraged. Nominated projects must have been completed in the last five years.

In addition to a generous cash honorarium the winning designer, architect or firm receives a limited-edition Mies van der Rohe-designed Barcelona chair, created by Knoll in honor of the award, and a trip to New York to present the project at a lecture at the Museum of Modern Art.