Become a Member

News April 2014

Current News

News Archive

Nominations open for WMF/Knoll 2014 Modernism Prize

April 20, 2014

The World Monuments Fund/Knoll Modernism prize is awarded every other year to a design professional or firm in recognition of innovative design solutions that preserved or saved a modern landmark at risk. Nominations for the Fall 2014 prize are due June 30. See the call for nominations for full details.

Established in 2008, the international prize was established to raise public awareness of the contribution Modernism makes to contemporary life, the important place Modernism holds in the architectural record, and the influential role that architects and designers play in preserving Modern heritage. Projects that enhanced a site’s architectural, functional, economic and environmental sustainability while benefiting the community are encouraged. Nominated projects must have been completed in the last five years. Winning projects for the past three competitions:

2008: ADGB Trade School, Bernau, Germany
2010: Zonnestraal Sanatorium, Hilversum, the Netherlands
2012: Hizuchi Elementary School, Yawatahama City, Japan

In addition to a $10,000 cash honorarium the winning designer, architect or firm receives a limited-edition Mies van der Rohe-designed Barcelona chair, created by Knoll in honor of the award, and a trip to New York to present the project at a lecture at the Museum of Modern Art.

Knoll is the founding sponsor of World Monuments Fund’s Modernism at Risk program.