Become a Member

News January 2019

Current News

News Archive

Frank Lloyd Wright buildings nomination resubmitted to UNESCO

January 18, 2019

Last November, the Frank Lloyd Wright Building Conservancy and participating sites completed a revised nomination to the UNESCO World Heritage List—The 20th-Century Architecture of Frank Lloyd Wright. The submission includes a group of eight major works designed by Wright located across the country. Spanning his 70-year career, the buildings include Unity Temple, the Frederick C. Robie House, Taliesin, Hollyhock House, Fallingwater, the Herbert and Katherine Jacobs House, Taliesin West, and the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum. The nomination was first submitted for consideration in 2015, but the decision was referred for further refinement. The National Park Service Office of International Affairs submitted the revised nomination to the World Heritage Centre in November. It will be reviewed at the 2019 World Heritage Meeting scheduled to be held in Azerbaijan this July.

8 Frank Lloyd Wright buildings nominated to be World Heritage Sites,”, December 20, 2018.

Revised Nominations submitted for inscription to World Heritage List,” Frank Lloyd Wright Building Conservancy, December 11, 2018.

Photo: Rob Streevelaar