Become a Member

News February 2015

Current News

News Archive

Key buildings by FLW nominated as World Heritage

February 20, 2015

Works by arguably the most famous architect in America may soon be official international heritage. A group of ten works by Frank Lloyd Wright, including the Guggenheim Museum, has been nominated to the UNESCO World Heritage List. The other buildings are Unity Temple in Oak Park IL, the Robie House in Chicago, Taliesin in WI and Taliesin West in AZ, Hollyhock House in Los Angeles, Fallingwater in PA, the Jacobs House I in Madison WI, the Price Tower in Bartlesville OK, and the Marin County Civic Center in CA.

Currently only 22 of the more than 1000 World Heritage Sites are located in the U.S. If accepted, the Wright works would join the Bauhaus, Brasilia, and the Sydney Opera House among examples of Modern architecture on the international list.

The nomination of “Key Works of Modern Architecture by Frank Lloyd Wright” was prepared by the Frank Lloyd Wright Building Conservancy through extensive research and collaboration with representatives of each of the Wright sites.

While the UNESCO honor would provide no specific protections, the buildings are all designated U.S. National Historic Landmarks and have local protections.

More info:

10 Wright Buildings Officially Nominated To UNESCO World Heritage List,” Frank Lloyd Wright Building Conservancy

Secretary Jewell Announces Nomination of 10 Buildings by Frank Lloyd Wright to the World Heritage List,” U.S. Dept. of the Interior press release

10 Frank Lloyd Wright Buildings Nominated for UNESCO Distinction,” Metropolis Magazine

The rotunda of the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum. Photo by Marissa Marvelli