Become a Member

News January 2018

Current News

News Archive

On November 9, the Board of Directors of the Albright-Knox Gallery approved a proposal presented by the chair of the museum’s Development Committee, recommending the re-examination of its expansion options, including those that do not call for the radical alteration of the 1961 Gordon Bunshaft-designed wing. The reconsideration is an acknowledgment of the heat the museum has received since the gallery’s architect, Office for Metropolitan Architecture (OMA), released conceptual renderings in summer 2017 showing a floating volume inserted between Bunshaft’s auditorium and the original 1903 Beaux Arts building, eradicating Bunshaft’s courtyard and galleries. ... MORE

Bunshaft's courtyard in 1962, courtesy The Buffalo News

The TWA Hotel, a project by the developer MCR to revitalize Eero Saarinen's iconic TWA Terminal at JKF Airport is moving forward at an impressive pace. One of the two hotel blocks being built behind the terminal has topped out as of December. This follows the opening of a retro-themed sales lounge in the World Trade Center this past fall. Future plans for the JFK site include a restored jet aircraft that will house a restaurant and bar, and a museum featuring furniture, TWA uniforms, David Klein destination posters, and other TWA memorabilia. The project is expected to be completed in 2019.... MORE

DOCOMOMO US invites nominations for the 2018 Modernism in America Awards. Now in its fifth year, the awards celebrate the documentation, preservation, and re-use of modern buildings, structures and landscapes built in the United States or on U.S. territory. The Awards recognize building owners, design teams, and advocacy and preservation organizations that have made significant efforts to retain, restore, and advocate for the aesthetic and cultural value of such places. Bell Labs and the Yale Center for British Art were 2017 award recipients. Nominations are due March 2. Details here. ... MORE

The Connecticut Trust’s Connecticut Preservation Awards recognize outstanding achievements in protecting and nourishing the state’s significant buildings, landscapes and communities. The awards recognize efforts in the areas of restoration, maintenance, preservation, or adaptive use of historic places; long-term, consistent stewardship and maintenance of historic places; innovation or excellence in improving the sustainability or resiliency of historic places; ... MORE