Become a Member

News August 2019

Current News

News Archive

Frank Lloyd Wright’s Guggenheim Museum Named a UNESCO World Heritage Site

August 28, 2019

Frank Lloyd Wright’s Guggenheim Museum celebrates its 60th anniversary this year and was recently named a UNESCO World Heritage Site. The designation was announced on July 7 in Baku Azerbaijan during the World Heritage Committee’s meeting.

Because of his reputation, Wright received the commission for the building in 1943. It was one of his final works. Richard Armstrong, director of the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum and Foundation, stated, “As we celebrate 60 years as an architectural icon, our Wright-designed masterpiece continues to serve as a beacon and inspiration for visitors from around the world.”

Wright has eight buildings listed as world heritage sites including Fallingwater (1939) in Mill Run, PA, locally, as well as Hollyhock House (1921) in Los Angeles, Frederick C. Robbie House (1909) in Chicago, Unity Temple (1906–1909) in Oak Park, IL, Jacobs House (1936–1937) in Madison, WI, and his Taliesin homes in Wisconsin and Arizona. The only other UNESCO heritage site in New York City is the Statue of Liberty, which received the designation in 1984.

“Frank Lloyd Wright’s Guggenheim Museum Named a UNESCO World Heritage Site,” Curbed NY, July 8, 2019.

Photo by John Arbuckle